It’s raining!

Rain has pretty much always been my favorite type of weather. Maybe I should move to Portland or someplace where the precipitation isn’t frozen for 4/5 of the year, but I think it’s the contrast that really makes me smile. Everything’s been either dead or hibernating out of sight for the past 9 months, and the rain on dirt is just a really refreshing change. It melts the snow, washes the dirty mucky car splash from the bases of the trees by the side of the road, and heralds the transition to buds and blooms and baby baby animals. Also, it SMELLS good.

Poking through. Good job, guys!
Poking through. Good job, guys!

I also love Thursdays. It’s the day we get goofy at work– in anticipation of the weekend, I think. In the earlier parts of the week I usually feel organized and productive (and do things like start blogs), but it’s also nice to have a feeling of release in the later parts. There’s a small but significant difference between the new beginnings of Monday and Winter which need to be hauled up by the scruffs of their necks and the shy but irrepressible beginnings of Spring and Thursdays. Thursday is the week’s equivalent to springtime, when I feel excited and energetic and ready for the fun to come (Weekend and Summer).

Flowers!
Flowers!

Speaking of beginnings, I have two brand spankin’ new things today:

  1. Tonight I have a technique training session at the climbing gym. I’ve been climbing inside all winter and I’m looking forward to/feeling sort daunted when I think about my first outdoor climbing season this summer.
  2. I’m also meeting up with a Craigslist neighbor to buy a skateboard. I’ve decided to “cross-train” for next snowboard season, and hopefully develop some/any hand-eye coordination and balance.

It’s raining, it’s springtime, and it’s Thursday. Bring it on!

